top of page
State Championships Archive

2015-2016 NSW MG14 State Titles

Taree Aquatic Club 5th & 6th March 2016



The Notice of Race for the 2015/2016 NSW MG14 State Titles has been issued and a copy can be downloaded here...


The Titles will be run over two days and there will be a BBQ dinner on the lawn outside the club on the Saturday Night after the Association AGM. The dinner will consist of Steak, Rissoles & Sausagues with 4 different salads, bread rolls and dessert. Cost will be $15 for adults and $8 for children under 12. There will be a bar serving beer ($3) and wine ($2.50) however BYO chair!


If you will be attending the dinner please email Gavan Pereira so that the club can organise catering.


For more information about the event please visit the State Titles page by clicking here...


2014/15 State Titles - Port Hunter Sailing Club
April 12th, 2015.


The 2014/2015 NSW State Champion is "Rush" sailed by Greg Junk and Keagan Davis from St George Sailing Club. In today's fresher conditions, Greg and Keagan proved a class above to win both heats 4 & 5 to take out the title from "Xanadu" (Gary Reeves & Brendan Yiu) with "Carbon Neutral" (Hugh & Anna Tait) coming in third.


Handicap champions were Shannon Corbett and Troy Akhurst sailing the newly converted "Nemisis". Sailing out of Gosford Sailing Club as an NS14, Corbett only converted the boat to an MG14 in the week leading up to the regatta. Winning the Handicap title is certainly a great reward for all the hard work. Full results are online at


Over the weekend the MG14 Association AGM was held where it was announced that the 2015/2016 Australian Championships will be held on Lake Illawarra out of the Illawarra Yacht Club and the State Titles will be held on the Manning River at Taree Aquatic Club.



2014/15 State Titles - Port Hunter Sailing Club
April 11th 2015.


Experience played a massive part in today's first day of the 2014/2015 NSW State Championships. Class stalwart Gary Reeves sailed almost flawlessly to take out the first two heats and and recover to place second in the third heat. Reeves and crew Brendan Yiu lead overall from Rush (Greg Junk & Keagan Davis)  with Carbon Neutral (Hugh Tait & Anna Tait) third.



Full results at

2013/14 State Titles - St George Sailing Club
March 8/9, 2014.




The NSW State Titles have been run and done for another year!  A fantastic event with another great turnout, a big thanks to St George SC for turning on great sailing conditions and terrific course and race management.


1st on Scratch - Rohan Nosworthy & Braden Kaul sailing Carbon Neutral (Queens Lake SC)

2nd on Scratch - Greg Roche & Cameron Kaul on Chill'n (Taree SC)

3rd on Scratch - Drew Van Ryn & Sophie Holt sailing Aqua Pest (Cronulla SC)


1st on Handicap - Jacinta & Dante Olivieri on Intensity (Pt Kembla SC)

2nd on Handicap - Phil JOnes & A Hume on Catchup (Balmoral SC)

3rd on Handicap - Lloyd Williams & John Caley on High Calibre (St George SC)

NSW States 2012/13


Challenging conditions over the whole weekend, some confusion in the fleet with a course change in heat 1, some broken gear (and crews!), and a blown out final heat - didn't diminish the amazingly tight racing, fantastic rides and terrific venue.​

Congratulations to Carbon Neutral - Hugh Tait & Anna Szili - 2012/13 State Champions on Scratch

Congratulations to Beat Route - Peter Rothwell & Isaac Pace - 2012/13 State Champions on Handicap

Full Results are published at
- Scratch Results
- Handicap Results

A big thanks to our regatta prizes sponsor - Macdiarmid Sails.

The 2007-08 MG14 NSW State Titles

report by John Hickey

The final heat of the NSW MG14 State Titles was held at Gosford SC on 5 April, in fine weather and light breeze. The top 3 places were already decided before the race, with Water Rat (Lindsay Mason and Daniel McLachlan of St George SC) taking the title with great consistency, including four 1sts during the series, followed by Xanadu (Gary Reeves and Paul Tyson of St George) with two firsts, and then Filthy Fase (Bob Taig and Dylan Moore of Toronto SC) with consistent placings through the series.

The three leaders were clearly the elite teams in the fleet all season, but also supported the series by attending each race. Kerry Beatty and Michael Foster on “Blew True” from Balmoral had a very consistent series with three firsts to win the State Handicap Title.

While the numbers attending across the series were a little disappointing, there was lots of exciting racing and laughs on shore and on the water across the races. Who could forget Filthy Fase’s suicide mission at Greenwich, when Bob and Dylan decided to impale their boat on a 40-foot monster. Worse still they were on port tack at the time! Then the Water Rat crew managed to ground themselves on their home water at St George. And who could forget the spectacle of both Xanadu and Water Rat sailing much of the last race with inside-out battens. The most embarrassing part of this last point was that Gary and Helena still managed to leave the rest of the fleet floundering in their wake.

Despite the major placings being already decided, there was plenty of interest during the afternoon at Gosford. Nine boats fronted the starter. Xanadu and Foxee both used the MGB rigs and finished first and second (unofficially). Filthy Fase had the last laugh for the season, snatching first place (officially), ahead of Water Rat. It was great to see that the bulk of the fleet finished in reasonable proximity to each other. Crikey (Brian Mansfield and Coen Laven from Toronto) was rewarded for its consistent attendance all season with the handicap win for the day.

The new Executive Committee will meet soon to decide the format, timing and venue for the State Championships in 2008/09. We look forward to seeing plenty of participation next season…..GET READY!!

bottom of page